MARCHAM SOCIETY PROGRAMME

Information on these talks, other events and outings including
Midweek Walks will be sent regularly to members by email.


2023-24

Unless otherwise announced, all talks will take place in the Main Hall at Marcham Centre. Doors open at 7.15 for 7.45pm start. 

 

Monday 25th September :

AGM followed by refreshments and talk

"Local lad made good - Alfred the Great" by Mike Cooper

Thursday 28th September :

Astronomy Group 7pm in the Small Hall

"Summer Round Up, Solar Eclipse and Colour in Space"

Wednesday 18th October :

Visit to Nuffield Place - 10.30am

Thursday 19th October :

Astronomy Group 7pm in the Small Hall

"When the Chips are down" talk by Chris Frost

Monday 23rd October :

"It's a bat's life" talk by David Endacott

Monday 13th November :

Visit to Aston Pottery - 10.30am

Thursday 23rd November :

Astronomy Group 7pm in the Small Hall

"The Visible Universe" talk by Max Whitby

Monday 27th November :

"Stonyborow - a clue to a Roman settlement in rural Oxfordshire?"

A talk by Abigail Lloyd

Monday 11th December :

CHRISTMAS PARTY in Small Hall at 6.30pm

Thursday 14th December :

Astronomy Group 7pm in the Small Hall

"The Christmas Star" - studies into its origin via a 'balloon debate'

 2024

Wednesday 17th January  :

Visit to Woodstock Museum and lunch - 10.30am

Exhibition of the Life and Works of Sir John Betjeman

Monday 22nd January :

ANNUAL LECTURE : "Go West, young man" talk by Richard Oliver

Thursday 25th January  :

"Titanic… did the Moon sink it?” 

A talk by Barry Kellett - Astronomy Group 7pm in the Small Hall

Thursday 22nd February  :

"Archimedes and Astronomy" by Simon Blackmore

Astronomy Group 7pm in the Small Hall

Monday 26th February :

"Water voles : a national approach to saving Ratty" talk by Merryl Gelling

Thursday 14th March  :

"Supernovae" by Mike Greig - Astronomy Group 7pm in the Small Hall

Monday 25th March :

"Everyday life and accidental death in 16th Century Oxfordshire and Berkshire" talk by Steven Gunn

Thursday 28th March  :

Visit to MINI Production Line 9.50 am

Wednesday 17th April :

Tour of Garford Village with Mike Greig - 2pm

Thursday 18th April  :

"Why Astronomy Matters: Space Weather and other examples"

by Mike Hapgood RAL - Astronomy Group 7.30pm in the Small Hall

Monday 22nd April :

MEMBERS EVENING with refreshments

"Gatehampton Roman Villa" by Hazel Williams with an exhibition of finds

Saturday 11th May  :

Big Marcham Weekend

Thursday 16th May  :

Astronomy Group 7.30pm in the Small Hall

Thursday 23rd May  :

2pm Visit to Buscot House

Monday 27th May :

"Eynsham Abbey" talk by Steve Parrinder

Monday 10th June  :

Visit to Ewelme Church and Almshouses with Prof. Susan Doran - 10.30am

Monday 24th June :

"The Ridgeway and Lowbury Hill from above" talk by Hedley Thorne

Saturday 13th July :

Summer BBQ 5pm


1st September 2024

SUBSCRIPTION RENEWAL FOR 2024-25

Further details on Talks, Astronomy group, Outings and Midweek walks will be added in due course

To join or renew please email: membership@marchamsociety.org.uk