MARCHAM SOCIETY PROGRAMME

Information on these talks, other events and outings including
Midweek Walks will be sent regularly to members by email.


Subscription renewals for 2022-23


 Unless otherwise announced, all talks will take place in the Main Hall at Marcham Centre. Doors open at 7.15pm for 7.45pm start.  

Monday 26th September 2022 - 7.45pm

Annual General Meeting followed by two talks:

"The Making of the Marcham Centre Sign" by Suzanne O'Driscoll
"Looking back at the Sky" by Jim Asher

Monday 24th October 2022 - 7.45pm:

"High Society Scandals in Oxfordshire" by Julie Ann Godson

Monday 28th November 2022 - 7.45pm:

"The Commonwealth War Graves Commission" by Karen Elliott

Monday 12th December 2022 - Christmas Party


2023

Monday 23rd January 2023 - 7.45pm:

THE ANNUAL LECTURE by Michael Worthing

"Sourcing 2nd century lava paving stones from Trajan's Market
in Rome subsidised by plunder from the Dacian Wars"

Monday 27th February 2023 - 7.45pm:

"The Wildlife of the Rare Fens and Salt Spring of the Marcham Area"
by Judith Webb

Saturday 25th March 2023 - Berkshire Local History Association

BLHA Conference to be held in the Marcham Centre (details to follow)

Monday 27th March 2023 - 7.45pm:

"Blue Plaques in the Vale" by Robert Evans

Monday 24th April 2023 - 7.45pm:

MEMBERS EVENING - (speakers to be confirmed)

Monday 22nd May 2023 - 7.45pm:

"Chimney Meadows - Floodplain Restrictions" by Lisa Lane

Monday 26th June 2023 - 7.45pm:

"The Two William Morrises of Oxfordshire" by Marie-Louise Kerr

Saturday July 2023 - Summer Barbecue (date to be confirmed)